Clubs & Activities

Reidsville High has several clubs and activities for students. Each club has a staff sponsor. We encourage as many students as possible to become active in the school-sponsored activities.

Click on a link below for more information about each.

Quick Links

ACC
Art Club
RHS Band
BOB
Craft Club
DECA
FBLA
FCA
HOSA
ITS
Junior Marshals
NHS
SADD
SGA
Sweetheart Society
Yearbook
Show More

Section Details

 

Academic Challenge Competition

Advisor: Jennifer Jones - jpjones@rock.k12.nc.us 

It is comprised of a group of students who compete academically with students from the other high schools in Rockingham County.  We have matches 5 times a year, 3 in the fall, and 2 in the spring. There are 5 areas of competition - Science, Math, English, Social Studies, and All-round.  Points are awarded and prizes are given at a banquet in the spring.

 

 

Art Club

Club Advisor: Jodi Chester - jchester@rock.k12.nc.us

Purpose: To explore all visual arts fields and develop individual creative styles.

Meeting time & Location: Thursdays at 3:30-4:30 in Art room 403

High School Band

Band Director: Travis Pike - tpike@rock.k12.nc.us 

Website: https://rhsrambands.wixsite.com/mysite 

Battle of the Books

Club Advisor:   Jennifer Jones - jpjones@rock.k12.nc.us 

                           Freda Howell    - fhowell@rock.k12.nc.us

                         

Students at participating schools read books from a list established by the state Battle of the Books committees and then compete in quiz-bowl-style tournaments to test their knowledge of these books.

Craft Club

Club Advisor:  Tamara Wells - twells@rock.k12.nc.us 

                           

                         

Students meet after school to design or create crafts.

 
 

DECA

Club Advisor: Larry Goodes - bgoodes@rock.k12.nc.us

DECA stands for "Distributive Education Clubs of America". It is an international association of high school and college students studying marketing, management and entrepreneurship in business, finance, hospitality, and marketing sales and service.

For More Information Visit the Official DECA Website: www.DECA.org

 

FBLA

Club Advisor: Martha King - mking@rock.k12.nc.us 

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) education association with a quarter million students preparing for careers in business and business-related fields.  The association has four divisions: (1) FBLA for high school students; (2) FBLA-Middle Level for Junior high, middle, and intermediate school students; (3) Phi-Beta Lambda(PBL) for postsecondary students; and (4) Professional Division for business people.

 
 

The concept was developed in 1937 by Dr. Hamden L. Forkner of Columbia University.  The first high school chapter was chartered in Johnson City, Tennessee on February 3, 1942.  In 1958, the first PBL collegiate chapter was chartered in Iowa. The Professional Division, originally the Alumni Division, began in 1978, and the Middle Level joined in 1994.

For More Information Visit the Official FBLA Website: https://www.fbla-pbl.org/

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

 
 

Club Advisor: James Teague - jteague@rock.k12.nc.us

                         Erik Teague      - eteague@rock.k12.nc.us

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes is touching millions of lives... one heart at a time. Since 1954, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes has been challenging coaches and athletes on the professional, college, high school, junior high and youth levels to use the powerful medium of athletics to impact the world for Jesus Christ. FCA is the largest Christian sports organization in America. FCA focuses on serving local communities by equipping, empowering and encouraging people to make a difference for Christ.

For More Information Visit the Official FCA Website: www.FCA.org

 
 

Health Occupations

Students of America (HOSA)

Club Advisor: Vivian Moore - vmoore@rock.k12.nc.us

 

HOSA is a student organization whose mission is to promote career opportunities in health care and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.

 

For more information visit the official HOSA website: www.HOSA.org

International Thespian Society

Club Advisor: George Murphy - gmurphy2@rock.k12.nc.us 

This is an honor society for high school and middle school theatre students.

For More Information Visit the Official ITS Website: https://www.schooltheatre.org/internationalthespiansociety/home

Junior Marshals

Club Advisor: Wayne Knight - wknight@rock.k12.nc.us

Junior Marshals are the top 15 students in the junior class based on weighted GPA. They work as ambassadors for the school at several events throughout the year and serve as host at Baccalaureate and Graduation. The Chief Marshall is the student who is ranked number 1 in their class, as of the end of sophomore year.

 

National Honor Society

Club Advisor: Mary Williamson - mwilliamson@rock.k12.nc.us 

NHS is the front-runner of organizations and societies that promote appropriate recognition for students who reflect outstanding accomplishments in the areas of scholarship,character, leadership, and service. Thousands of schools are chartered.  

College admissions officers often regard Honor Society membership as a valid indicator that the applicant will succeed at the post-secondary education level.

 

Visit the official website for more details: https://www.nhs.us/ 

 

Students Against Destructive Decisions

Club Advisor: Larry Goodes - bgoodes@rock.k12.nc.us

 

This organization aims to prevent accidents from students taking potentially destructive decisions.

For More Information Visit the Official SADD Website: https://www.sadd.org/

Student Government Association

Club Advisor: Katelyn Knable - kknable@rock.k12.nc.us 

                          Nina Walls        - nwalls@rock.k12.nc.us 

 

This group of students are charged with managing a wide range of events, activities, programs, policies and initiatives around school. Some members are elected by the student body,

Sweetheart Society

Club Advisor: Elisabeth Ownbey - eownbey@rock.k12.nc.us

 

Sophisticated young women, who are energetic, educated, trustworthy, helping, endearing, ambitious, respectful, and talented. 

The purpose of the club is to give females confidence in who they are and who they will become. We teach skills, acknowledge feelings and emotions, and support each other.

Yearbook Committee

Club Advisor:  Jennifer Jones -  jpjones@rock.k12.nc.us 

                          Wayne Knight  -   wknight@rock.k12.nc.us 

 

An application is required for students to work collectively on developing the school yearbook. Course credit is given.

 
 
 

©2019 Rockingham County Schools. Proudly created by McConnell Group.

Reidsville High School

1901 South Park Drive

Reidsville, North Carolina 27320

Phone (336) 349-6361; FAX:  (336) 349-3205

Principal:  Ann Mitchell

  • Facebook - Black Circle

Rockingham County Schools

511 Harrington Highway

Eden, North Carolina 27288

Phone:  (336) 627-2600  Fax:  (336) 627-2660

Superintendent's E-mail:  rshotwell@rock.k12.nc.us

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • RCS Twitter